And it started with a…..

… leap.

If you had have asked me a year ago what I would be doing in a year’s time, my answer would not be out of work and looking to write my first book. Sometimes in life you have a clear idea of what you want to do and where you want to go, other times you need a little nudge.

In my case, the little nudge came in the form of an unwanted (from my perspective) re-organisation at the company I’ve worked for for the past 25 years. I was told the role that I’d just spent the last year shaping into something that would be both challenging and interesting, was no more. My company wanted me to do an alternate role which would have been very exciting for someone but not for me. After a number of days of ranting and raving against the unfairness of it all I decided to look at the alternatives, one of which was taking redundancy.

It would be quite a change. I’d worked for the same company (well, with the same group of people, the owners had changed over time) since I was 16 years old. The thought of not waking up at 7:00 am, putting on a shirt and trousers and driving to an office to check emails and make phone calls, was quite daunting. What would I do?

The good news was that I would be given a good payout if I wanted to take redundancy, certainly enough money that there would be no need to rush back to work. At the same time my wife was just going back to work after maternity leave. What started out as a nightmare suddenly turned into an opportunity of a lifetime. I could have a re-think on what I wanted to do with my life, I was no longer constrained by having to earn a certain amount of money to support the family.

Of course, I wasn’t the only one involved in this. I’m very lucky to have an incredibly understanding wife who was happy to  support me in whatever I wanted to do, at least in the short term. We did the maths, looked at what it meant for our families finances, worked out we wouldn’t starve (at least not for a while) and I took the leap.

Before I started any new career I wanted to take a bit of time to try something I’ve wanted to do since school but life had got in the way, write a novel. So I have given myself a month to see if I have the skill, aptitude and more importantly desire to write a novel. This blog will be a document on whether I was successful or not. Wish me luck………

6 thoughts on “And it started with a…..

  1. welshstream

    The start of a great adventure indeed. Wherever it leads you I hope that first and foremost it brings you much fun and pleasure. It will also stretch you, but then that’s part of the deal!

    Reply
  2. dylanhearn Post author

    Thanks! I’m trying to treat this in the same way as I did when we moved to Germany. if I had known just how challenging it would be, both the language and building a new life, we probably would never have done it, but we were so glad we did.
    I’m trying not to find out how tough this will be as I would probably be put off. However, I know how lucky I am to have the chance and it’s just a thrill to have the time and opportunity to give it a go.

    Reply
  3. Kizzy

    Dylan, this is AWESOME and I am so proud of YOU! I can’t wait to read your first novel! I’m sure it will be brilliant!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

