We have lift off

I couldn’t help myself. I know when writing a book you are meant to plan, plan then plan some more. Each character is expected to be rounded, with a full bio behind them so you are clear on what they would be likely to do in any given situation. The problem is, I want to write.

For the past 3 weeks I have been creating and developing my plot, looking at the key characters, revising and rewriting the plot, refining the characters, reviewing and further refining the plot until, frankly, I couldn’t wait any longer. I had to start. So I have.

I have started chapter 1 of my novel. I spent the first 20 minutes playing around with how exactly I was going to start the book and then I remembered some great advice I read by Neil Gaiman in his top 10 tips for writers of fiction.

  1. Write
  2. Put one word after another. Find the right word, put it down.

So I set off and 3 hours later I am 2500 words into my first novel. What have I learnt?

  1. The first part of my chapter sets the scene and describes one of the lead characters, without literally describing him, while at the same time introducing us to the world around us. This I found incredibly hard to do and I’m not that happy with the results so far (but hey, it’s my first time and my first draft, what did I expect?)
  2. I found dialogue relatively straight forward and great fun to write. This shouldn’t be too much of a surprise to those that know me, I do like to talk.
  3. I loved the writing process and want to carry on. I know I am only 1 day in but this was my biggest worry.

So, 1% down, 99% to go.

2 thoughts on “We have lift off

  1. Gary Bent

    Rome indeed wasn’t built in a day…although that was the builder’s original estimate. Good luck old boy, I’ll keep checking in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

