I am a starter, but I will finish

When I first started writing my book I spent plenty of time reading blogs, articles, books, anything I could get my hands to help learn how to write a book. There is a lot of good advice out there (some of which has ended up on this blog) but two pieces of advice have stuck in my mind:

  1. Just write
  2. Finish what you started

This may seem obvious; write a lot because the more you write the more you learn and the closer you get to finding your own “voice” (which is important), but you also at some point have to complete what you are doing and let it go out into the wild. It’s very good advice, excellent in fact,

but

If you have ever had the pleasure of working closely with me you will know that I am a starter, not a finisher (I like to think that I’m an excellent starter, world class in fact). This doesn’t mean I don’t finish anything, I have worked hard for many years to make sure I finish what I’ve started, it’s just that it doesn’t come naturally to me. Now before you start worrying, this doesn’t mean that I’m about to go off and do something else. I love writing, I am hooked and I don’t think I’ll ever stop. I will finish the book because:

  • The story deserves to be told
  • I love the story and I’ve put too much heart and soul into it to stop now
  • I love the learning process and I still have a lot of learning to do
  • I do not want to confirm to my friends that I am not a writer, but a marketing professional having a midlife crisis

There is only one problem, one tiny fly in the ointment. There is another story that has been marinading in the back of my skull for a while now and it has finally learned to talk. It has a seductive voice that whispers to me during those moments when my mind drifts (first thing in the morning, just before I go to sleep, when I am doing any domestic chore) and the voice repeats just three small words:

Write me instead

It doesn’t help that it’s a great idea (in my own modest opinion). It’s something that is very personal to me but should resonate with many people. It too is a story that deserves to be told, a story that is being written about in the media quite often but (in my opinion) not truly understood. However, it’s just going to have to bide it’s time. My current book needs to be completed first and hopefully I’ll be a better, stronger writer for it. Then, perhaps, I’ll be able to do the next story justice.

So, I stand in front of you all today (metaphorically speaking), to raise my right hand and say “My name is Dylan, I am a starter, but I haven’t started a new project now for 13 weeks and I won’t until I have finished the project I am currently writing.

Thank you for your support!

9 thoughts on “I am a starter, but I will finish

  1. Jill Weatherholt

    I think you’ve made a wise decision.The other story will still be there, once you complete your current WIP. Prove to yourself that you are both a starter and a finisher and then you’ll have two completed novels. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Carrie Rubin

    That little voice gets in my head, too–telling me to switch to a different story and leave the old one behind. So far, I haven’t given in to it–I like to work on one project at a time, but I’ll see if I can maintain my resistance. 🙂

    Reply
  3. cthomashuber

    I definitely understand. Sometimes I wish I could communicate with my parallel universe self and work out a time-share deal. Writing, in my reality, must take a backseat to my full-time career (I work in TV production) and my family (two young kids and my wonderful wife). Patience, patience, patience.

    Reply
  4. change it up editing

    Great post! I’m a kindred spirit–I love to start new projects (what a rush!) but find it much more difficult to finish. Thanks for visiting and following my blog, and I look forward to reading more of yours.

    Reply
    1. dylanhearn Post author

      The great thing about being a starter is that we get to do do many great things, the down side is that it’s a real struggle to get to that wonderful feeling of achievement. Thanks for the reply, I loved your blogpost on “just do it,” it really hit a chord.

      Reply
  5. authorangelachristinaarcher

    September 18th was my 3 year anniversary for working on my first manuscript. This past summer I thought I was finished and was in the submission process. While I was waiting for the ever sought after acceptance, I began my second manuscript. One I have been jumping around in my seat to start. Unfortunately, I am back in the revision process for #1, so #2 is on hold again. I know I have to finish #1 and whether it’s self or traditionally published, I’m going to see it through to the end before I go back to #2. Good luck to you!

    Reply
    1. dylanhearn Post author

      Hi Christina. Thanks for your post and sorry I haven’t got back to you until now. I’ve been taking a break from blogging. Yes, the temptations enormous, but I’m glad I haven’t started the second book yet. Over the past few weeks I’ve been noting down comments, stories, and various ephemera which will only add further depth once I start. Good luck with your editing process.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

