I love it when a plan comes together

The last two weeks have been a little quiet due to a virus doing the rounds of the family and school half-term holidays, but I’ve been able to crack on again this week with the book. The good news is that I’ve completed just over 65,000 words now (past Lord of the Flies and All Quiet on the Western Front and approaching The Catcher on the Rye, at least in quantity) and coming close to finishing the second act, two things I am very pleased about.

One of the things I’ve enjoyed most while writing over the past couple of days is that the break has obviously allowed my brain to subconsciously mull over the story line a bit more. This has led to some great writing moments in which I’ve given free reign to my characters in sections that weren’t fully plotted out, and they end up doing something to further integrate a number of elements that were initially developed purely as flavour, but never planned to be integral to the plot. It’s a strange feeling when this happens, similar to being reminded of something you haven’t thought of for a long time, like a childhood game or your wedding anniversary (joking!), but of course these aren’t memories, they’re just make believe. It’s almost as if you’re hand is being guided in some way. I’m not complaining and long may it continue. All I hope is that I’m divining the same spirit as Stephen King.

5 thoughts on “I love it when a plan comes together

  1. Carrie Rubin

    Characters really can guide the story. It’s hard to explain to others who haven’t experienced it, but it’s true. And coming from a pragmatic realist like me, that says something!

    Reply
    1. dylanhearn Post author

      Pragmatic realist is a phrase I can really identify with, I don’t really believe in spirit guides (unless you are the same one as for Stephen King, then I do, I do, I do), I think that’s why the whole thing has surprised me so much. While I’ve had cases before where the plot has changed due to a character’s behaviour or action, it’s the first time for me that they have incorporated something briefly mentioned earlier in the story ( so I haven’t fallen foul if Chekov’s Rifle).

      Reply
  2. cthomashuber

    I definitely agree with letting the subconscious work on story while I’m away. And as far as character, my earliest attempts involved plot-heavy outlining. My fiction deepened only after I began letting my characters lead me. I try to allow my characters to play out their scenes on a stage of my design – a stage that is constantly in flux – and as long as they stay within the confines of that structure (as long as they don’t stray off into the wings), the story seems to work itself out. At least so far… I am currently writing my first novel; all my previous writings have either been other, aborted novels, or short fiction.

    Reply
    1. dylanhearn Post author

      I agree. As this is my first novel I didn’t feel comfortable enough to start out without any idea of where I was heading or how I was going to get there, but the further I’ve progressed, the more comfortable I’ve become in giving them their heads, so to speak.

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

