First draft complete!

For the first time in my life I can say that after many weeks and 99,190 words, I’ve written a book. I’m now an author. It has a nice ring to it, author, a certain gravitas. I may even add it to my various social media profiles. Now I’m not for a moment suggesting that I’m a good author, yet, and certainly not a published author, yet, but I’m an author.

As for the book, it’s not very good, not at the moment. Characters come and go, terrible scenes of violence occur in the latter 3rd for no apparent reason, and on a few occasions the laws of relativity have been unintentionally shattered; but the first draft of my book is now finished, the first milestone had been achieved. I am ecstatic and relieved in equal measure. I can’t wait to read it.

So what have I learnt from the process?

  • I’ve learnt that I have both the aptitude and the desire to write, two things which definitely weren’t clear when I started down this path. In fact I don’t just have the desire to write, I have a hunger to write. Now that I’ve started, I’ll never stop.
  • I know that characters are like two year olds: you can’t make them do things they don’t want to do. They just wriggle and squirm, squeal in frustration, even lay kicking and screaming on the floor until they get their own way.
  • I know that there is an awful lot of work still to do before I can turn this large, sprawling collection of words into a tight, compelling story, but I’m looking forward to this part the most. Editing and shaping my own or other peoples work is what I’ve been doing most of my professional life.
  • I know that no matter how much you believe you have planned, you haven’t planned enough, but that’s OK. Some of the (fairly fundamental) changes I’ve made while writing I don’t believe I would ever have planned out. At the same time, I don’t believe I would have got this far if I didn’t have a strong outline of each scene, even if some ended getting discarded or re-written.
  • I have also finally found out what the book is really about. It revealed itself to me right at the end. I thought I knew earlier, but I was wrong. For those of you who I confided in, I’m sorry, I lied, but it wasn’t deliberate. Now I just need to make sure to tease out the theme through the whole book during the editing and rewrite process.

So, now for a break. By break, I mean not sitting and writing, not editing, not shaping, at least for the moment. The one thing I have learnt is that you should let a first draft rest for a while. I’ll still be working on the book, though; I have a few timelines to rework, plan out the development of dissatisfaction through to full-blown civil unrest; question a geneticist friend on how to speed up gestation, as well as develop a number of advertising slogans for a fictional product that could change the world. Lots to do.

I had best get started.

8 thoughts on “First draft complete!

  1. leestoneauthor

    I guess you were always an author. It’s just that you’ve finally got around to proving it! Congratulations. I love the last thing you learned: that the story had a much better idea of what it was about than you did. That’s always the way with a good story. Good luck editing!

    Reply
    1. dylanhearn Post author

      That’s a great way of putting it. I started this process almost as a challenge to myself without really knowing what the outcome would be. I have enough nearly new sports equipment scattered around the house to know that just because I’ve always wanted to do something, it doesn’t always mean I’ll stick to it, but when I started writing the book it just felt right.

      Thanks for dropping by. I loved your blog, reading it with both enjoyment and envy (in a nice way) and look forward to reading more in the future.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

